Your box is empty.

You should definitely do something about that.

Various Artists - Soundbites Volume 2
CD Album
Out Of Stock

Various Artists

Soundbites Volume 2


Released: 24th March 2008 | 14 track downtempo album
For the last six years Brighton based independent label/collective Cookshop has strived to serve up a distinctly alternative menu of sounds covering everything from dub to electronica to hip hop to cinematica and beyond, refusing to bow to current trends or fashions but simply supporting the music and artists it believes in. Such an attitude and output has over time built a firm base of fans, with names such as DJ Food (Ninja Tune), Mr Scruff, Hexstatic, Jon Kennedy, Dr Rubberfunk, Flevans (Tru Thoughts/Jack To Phono) and The Big Chill all actively supporting the ongoing work of the label. Following the success of the first Soundbites compilation, and after much demand for a follow up, Cookshop are pleased to present the next installment in the series, Soundbites Vol.2. This time around Cookshop label bosses La Femme and Lost Idol have not only handpicked a clutchful of tracks from themselves and resident artists Digital Midgets, Jonathan Krisp and Outerlectuals, but also looked further afield to include music from other new and inspiring artists from across the globe including names such as Boxed Roomer, Implosion Quintet, King Seven, Tom Eno, Remus and Justice & DJ Pulse, resulting in a satisfying collection that is uniquely Cookshop. Amongst the music here you'll find widescreen cinematic sounds from Norway's Implosion Quintet (due to release an album on Cookshop later this year), haunting soundtrack dub recorded on a secluded houseboat by Outerlectuals, abstract hip hop flavours from drum & bass veterans Justice & DJ Pulse, psychedelic electronica from Jonathan Krisp and off-kilter sampledelic beats from Digital Midgets. La Femme and Lost Idol also appear, the latter with a superb summery belearic rework of Ugly Day courtesy of Jack To Phono artist Tom Eno.