Your box is empty.

You should definitely do something about that.

Cylob - Cymply The Best 93-01


Cymply The Best 93-01

Cylob Industries

Released: 22nd December 2014 | 13 track leftfield/idm album

Cylob is the alias of electronic music maker Chris Jeffs. Between the years of 1993 and 2004 he released 13 singles and 5 albums on Rephlex, in addition to the EP Spider Report for Breakin' Records. His remix credits include reworkings for Mogwai, Aphex Twin, Soulwax (2 many DJs), Cristian Vogel and Mike Flowers Pops.

Cylob Industries was set up in 2007 to release the music of Cylob. So far, six albums and three singles of new music have been released, including under the alter-egos nonprivate and Ambient News.

The end of 2014 sees the Cylob back catalogue being given an official digital release for the first time. The very best of nine singles first released on Rephlex between the years of 1993 and 2001 are presented on the compilation Cymply The Best. Including the dancefloor destroying Smack 'Em Up Sharp and Smash Up The Pram, the thoughtful and spooky detroit-influenced Kobal and Lave Trader from the earliest EPs released as Kinesthesia, and the haunting vocoder hymn Are We Not Men Who Live And Die, the album also contains the underground hits Rewind and Cut The Midrange, Drop The Bass, which pioneered computer-generated rapping and singing on top of signature Cylob beats. A recurring favourite on Lauren Laverne's BBC Radio 6 Music show, the video to Rewind, directed by Mark Adcock and featuring martial artist Chloe Bruce, saw a fair amount of MTV airplay on its release, as well as clocking up over 300,000 views on YouTube in more recent years. Last but not least, bass-playing duties on the track Divided Loyalties are fulfilled by a certain pusher of squares, accompanied by Cylob on trombone.