Your box is empty.

You should definitely do something about that.

Papernut Cambridge & Luke Smith & The Feelings

Sullivan's Travels

Gare du Nord Records

Released: 20th November 2015 | 9 track alt country ep

Papernut Cambridge have teamed up with Canterbury band Luke Smith & The Feelings to release an EP of TV theme songs by acclaimed comedy writer John Sullivan featuring versions of Only Fools & Horses, Hooky Street, Dear John and Just Good Friends.

Sullivan's theme tunes are as well loved as his TV shows themselves, and their gentle wryness and kitchen-sink romance makes perfect material for a Papernut/Feelings collaboration.

Luke Smith is a significant figure on the Canterbury music scene - a jobbing pianist as well as a gifted, witty songwriter, his deceptively mild mannered tales of doomed romance and stoicism soundtrack the insecurities of modern living and have earned him and his band a well-loved reputation with a great track record of releases, live residencies and events around his home city.

Papernut Cambridge, having released two albums in 2013 and 14 to some critical acclaim, have spent most of 2015 concentrating on cover versions. Their Nutlets 1967-80 album was a set of classic pop covers released in June 2015, and Sullivan's Travels is another chapter in their year long exploration of and tribute to other people's songs.

Not a 'split' EP as such - the two bands have well and truly merged on the nine tracks. There are shared vocals (by Luke & Lucy from The Feelings, Ian and Citizen Helene from The Papernuts), alternate versions, as well as a 15-minute track of audio sleeve notes by Luke about the project.

The EP title comes from the 1942 movie Sullivan's Travels - the tale of a comedy writer who yearns to produce something serious and socially relevant, but ultimately realises that comedy can be exactly that, and he's been doing it all along.

Previous support: BBC 6 Music , Gideon Coe, Shindig, Mojo, Q, Rough Trade, Record Collector, The Quietus