Your box is empty.

You should definitely do something about that.

Eddie Roberts - An Introduction To Eddie
CD Album
Out Of Stock

Eddie Roberts

An Introduction To Eddie


Released: 22nd June 2009 | 15 track crossover jazz album
An Introduction To Eddie Roberts is the first album to feature all aspects of the high profile career of jazz guitarist Eddie Roberts from Leeds/England. Compiling 15 tracks from his solo output so far plus five unreleased tracks. An Introduction is a perfect showcase for his talents and includes songs from the Roughneck and Trenta albums. Here you will find favourites like Eddie's version of the Stanley Turrentine classic Sugar sung by Iain MacKenzie, the self-explanatory Szabo and his signature tune Roughneck. The variety ranges from the Acid Jazz touches in 24000 Baci and Strada Statale 163 to the club grooves of Lack of Afro's remix of Giorgio's Brother and the melancholic twist in Every Goodbye. Eddie Roberts started his musical career in 1989. Around 1991 Eddie's love for Grant Green inspired him to put a Hammond-based line up together. With the sound of Big John Patton, Lou Donaldson and Ivan Boogaloo Jo Jones, his band The Eddie Roberts Organisation toured UK and managed to get its first European dates at the 'Queen's Birthday Celebrations' in Amsterdam. Then The Three Deuces were born. After headlining Italy's Jazz festival in Bari with Greg Osby as well as many UK festivals Eddie's focus shifted towards Deep Funk in 1999, and hence The New Mastersounds who started out performing a mix of Eddie's quirky Meters-inspired funk ditties and covers of Jimmy McGriff and Grant Green. Five studio albums followed so far and a well recorded international history.