Your box is empty.

You should definitely do something about that.

Various Artists - Ron Trent & Jerome Sydenham Present: Need 2 Soul, Vol. 1
2 x CD Album
Out Of Stock

Various Artists

Ron Trent & Jerome Sydenham Present: Need 2 Soul, Vol. 1


Released: 9th June 2008 | 30 track deep house album
On June 2nd 2008, house music institution Need2Soul proudly presents the first in a series of hot compilations: 'Need2Soul V.01' is mixed by two true luminaries of the genre, Ron Trent and Jerome Sydenham, and features tracks by Michael Myer, Robert Owens, Alexander Robotnick, and Justin Martin. Over two discs, V.01 showcases the best in fad-free, quality deep house, rooted in the US tradition of soul, disco, boogie and beyond, married to more European electronic influences. Highly fresh, raw yet soulful black dance music, which glides between rough and smooth, light and dark. First up is none other than Ron Trent, the man responsible for the bona fide high-tech soul anthem 'Altered States'. His mix is a bright, airy and percussive trip through emotive house music, and highlights how fresh and un-formulaic the genre can be when in the hands of an expert. Trent even throws some curveballs in the shape of Alexander Robotnick's early house, disco-not-disco esque 'Love Supreme' and the 1979 Prelude 12 'A Little Bit Of Jazz' by the Nick Straker Band. Upping the tempo and taking the proceedings down a techier route, Jerome Sydenham's fluid mix takes in a set of unique hybrids of house, techno and garage. Highlights include uplifting opener 'I Try' by François Dubois, reminiscent of early K Klass, summery anthem 'He Is' by the Sunburst Band (remixed by Ian Friday), the classic nineties garage of Sydenham's dub of 'Atmospheric System' and the vintage Orbital like 'Uber Wiesen' by Michael Myer and Tobias Thomas. The mix culminates in a triple bill of whistful tracks/remixes by Justin Martin, Wiqhonomy Brothers and Flora Cruze.