Your box is empty.

You should definitely do something about that.

The New Mastersounds - Renewable Energy
Vinyl LP

The New Mastersounds

Renewable Energy

One Note Records

Released: 13th April 2018 | 11 track soul jazz album

Renewable Energy expands on the NMS template while still providing plenty of the band's trademark sounds. Guitarist Eddie Roberts, drummer Simon Allen, bassist Pete Shand and keyboardist Joe Tatton are joined on this 11-track effort by a number of guests: Sam Bell, one of the founding members of NMS precursor The Mastersounds who also guested on two previous NMS albums, plays percussion on most of the tracks. Mike Olmos and Joe Cohen of the West Coast Horns once again provide added horn action as they did on Made For Pleasure from 2015, while Adryon de León from LA band Orgone contributes vocals on Gonna Be Just Me. Uptempo numbers Tantalus and Yokacoka see the band flexing their playing chops over a tightly-wound rhythm, while Green Was Beautiful (Eddie's homage to the late, great Grant Green) and Groovin On The Groomers are toe-tapping slabs of soul jazz. The band's cover of James Gang's Funk 49 takes the album in a fuzzed-out psych-rock direction with Eddie singing the lead, while the moody Hancock-esque inflections of Stash and the sweet mellow vibes of Swimming With My Fishies add the final brushstrokes of colour to the canvas.