Your box is empty.

You should definitely do something about that.

Nicole Willis & UMO Jazz Orchestra - My Name Is Nicole Willis
Out 29th September 2017

Pre-order products will be shipped to arrive as close as possible to the release date. All orders are dispatched in a single consignment so any other items in your cart will be held until all products are available. Please note that release dates for items on pre-order are subject to change.

Nicole Willis & UMO Jazz Orchestra

My Name Is Nicole Willis

Persephone Records

Expected: 29th September 2017 | 11 track soul album

Nicole Willis, known for her collaborations with The Soul Investigators & Jimi Tenor produces an album including some of the tracks she composed with the former as well as originals specifically for a fresh collaboration with UMO Jazz Orchestra. Jimi Tenor, who is a multi-faceted artist, has penned all arrangements for the big band and their talented rhythm section. Pete Toikkanen who is a mega-talent guitarist from The Soul Investigators, along with the two, composed those original tracks that highlight their alternative influences. Indie god & personal hero of Ms Willis, Ian Svenonius introduces Ms Willis on the first track and wraps up the LP with a final plea.

Ms Willis delves into her Northern Soul anthems with One In A Million, Together We Climb and Break Free (Shake A Tailfeather) and with the never released (Everybody) Do The Watusi. UMO Jazz Orchestra add extra horn dynamic and Tenor's arrangements shine, as they have done so on the Soul Investigators' records. Pete Toikkanen whose unique style has been a defining asset of the group give the UMO Jazz Orchestra a rawness in treatment that they have never quite exhibited before. The mixes flatter all involved and are full. Mr Svenonius is superb without even trying and is on as ever.