Your box is empty.

You should definitely do something about that.

Lucky Brown - Mesquite Beat (feat. The S.G.'s)
7" Vinyl

Lucky Brown

Mesquite Beat (feat. The S.G.'s)

Tramp Tapes

Released: 3rd February 2017 | 2 track funk single

The mysterious Cecil Moses & The S.G.'s (Oliver Klomp - drums, Colin Higgins - guitar, Bob Heinemann - bass, and Marc Hager - keys) unite with deep funk pioneer Lucky Brown to interpret Lucky's original Mesquite Suite, a collection of spiritual folk/jazz modal melodies fused with earthy and arcane rhythms composed in the summer of 2015 in an ashram in the Texas Hill Country.

The S.G.'s, who specialize in their own brand of great quartet instrumental soul ala Booker T. & The M.G.'s and The Meters, adapted quickly to Lucky's experimental, rudimentary, vernacular, and minimalist approach. One thing you will notice in these tunes is that the vast space created by the musicians and the composition is what allows the FEEL to filter through, and for Lucky Brown, FEEL is what it is all about.

This first single presents the themesong of their collection, a deep tribal shuffle, Mesquite Beat, upon which Jason Cressey - trombone, and Thomas Deakin - sax, offer their own explorations. The flip is an upbeat and minimal pentatonic anthem entitled Justice, featuring Lucky Brown himself on funk flute.

With this release, we are proud to introduce the first installment of the Mesquite Suite collection on Tramp's own special limited imprint: Tramp Tapes, a suite of original, raw deep funk inspired as much by Mulatu Astatke as it is James Brown.