Your box is empty.

You should definitely do something about that.

Various Artists - Save The Music - A Compilation For Record Store Day

Various Artists

Save The Music - A Compilation For Record Store Day


Released: 6th May 2013 | 12 track downtempo album

Save the Music - A compilation for Record Store Day features exclusive new music from: AM, Princess Superstar, The Incredible Tabla Band, S.Maharba, Letherette, Dibiase, Jed & Lucia, NOMO, Shawn Lee, Magnetite, and a re-issued folky funk joint from Pats People. The compilation is available on 3 limited edition, hand-numbered, 12 singles and on a limited edition compilation CD. A digital version of the compilation will follow shortly.

The track list was put together with the help of our musical friends Shawn Lee, The Groove Merchant record store, and the influential radio show/podcast BTS Radio. The idea behind the compilation was to make a musical collection that was as eclectic, fun, and deep as our favorite record stores…

Shawn Lee chose to include a slamming new track from his forthcoming collaboration album with the soulful melodic pop crooner AM, a funky hip hop joint with NY vocalist Princess Superstar and a sneak peak at his new Incredible Tabla Band covering the ultimate breaks n'beats favorite Apache (originally by the Incredible Bongo Band.) Lee's connections extend further into the comp with the highly sought-after NOMO collaboration Upside Down that was released on limited edition 7 and sold at NOMO shows earlier this year. He also remixes Jed and Lucia's Apostrophe, into an impossibly infectious breezy bossa.

Jed and Lucia make a second appearance, dropping a brand new sunny-styled chill wave-goes-Brazil cut called This is Why, as selected by BTS radio. Since 2003, Andrew Meza's BTS radio has presented some of the most original and progressive music podcasts and is credited with spearheading the worldwide beat movement, and introducing acts like Flying Lotus and Hudson Mohawke. BTS-partner Charles Munka designed the album and 12 art for Save the Music. BTS other picks for the comp come from Dibiase who was crowned the Red Bull-LA Big Tune 2010 Champion and has received nods and praise from DJ Premier and Flying Lotus. S.Maharba, who hails from Ipswich in the UK, creates infectious, haunting, boom-bap inspired pieces and features a ghostly vocal from Jed and Lucia. Letherette are becoming one of the most hotly tipped acts in electronic music having presented their first official EP, a feature on Gilles Peterson's Brownswood Electric comp and a remix for Solar Bears Planet Mu debut in the last 12 months.

To round out the compilation Groove Merchant owner Cool Chris Veltri picked a brand new track from Magnetite (top secret project from the Clutchy Hopkins camp) to partner the music of super-obscure Irish band Pats People