Your box is empty.

You should definitely do something about that.

Pauli Lyytinen Magnetia Orkesteri - Pauli Lyytinen Magnetia Orkesteri
10" Vinyl
Out Of Stock

Pauli Lyytinen Magnetia Orkesteri

Pauli Lyytinen Magnetia Orkesteri

We Jazz

Released: 1st September 2017 | 4 track post bop ep

On the new release on the Grotto Editions X We Jazz 10 EP series, sax man Pauli Lyytinen steps up with a strong 4-tracker featuring Verneri Pohjola on trumpet, Eero Tikkanen on bass, and Mika Kallio on drums. The leader of the Helsinki-based quartet is known from other projects such as Mikko Innanen 10+ (in which the entire quartet is featured), Raoul Björkenheim eCsTaCy, and Elifantree. Artist of the Year at the 2017 Pori Jazz Festival, Finland's premiere jazz event, Lyytinen displays his ability of writing melodic fire music with ever-evolving momentum.

Each of the group members is currently in the middle of an active period in their respective careers, with Pohjola experiencing well-deserved acclaim for his latest LP Pekka, Tikkanen working on the new album with the Mopo trio, and Kallio performing lauded shows experimenting with the duo of percussion and a dancer.

On the new release, the quartet pool together their creative resources, presenting four original compositions by Lyytinen. They rely on their individial soloistic strengths and get a lot of mileage out of the group's strong interplay. Their sound should appeal to fans of Art Ensemble of Chicago, Andrew Cyrille, Byard Lancaster, and the indie label free jazz movement of the late 60's/1970's, to mention but a few directions on the musical compass. That being said, the quartet shines in creating personal music which has a strong footing in the now.