Your box is empty.

You should definitely do something about that.

The Voodoo Trombone Quartet - The Phantom
10" Vinyl
Out Of Stock

The Voodoo Trombone Quartet

The Phantom

Freshly Squeezed

Released: 15th October 2007 | 3 track single
A distinctive 3 track 10 EP from London's The Voodoo Trombone Quartet. A1s title track, The Phantom, welds Hammer Horror screams and thunder-claps to an infectious break-beat floor-filler and heavy bass line. It combines blaring horns, classic ska elements, and a Cramps style guitar loop... wicked in every way! B1 weights in with another ska flavored tune and more beats. Muted trumpets and wailing saxes fight it out with a repetitive loop. While the exotic, almost Bollywood 3rd track, Eastern Wanderer has already found its way to become the theme to new Radio 4 comedy written by Kevin Eldon (Big Train, Nighty Night) The Things Show For those that maybe don't know, the band was formed in 2004 by producer, record collector and multi instrumentalist, Paul Thorpe. The VTQs first tracks were made freely available on the internet by their creator as supposedly rediscovered originals. The joke backfired however when the tracks became immensely popular in their own right , each one clocking up thousands of downloads. The newly formed independent label Freshly Squeezed duly took note and signed Paul for the band's eponymous debut album in 2005. An 8-piece live band, half of which consisted of brass section, were subsequently kitted out in matching red fezes and spread the VTQ message - Dates swiftly followed through 2006 and 2007 at clubs and festivals across Europe including Bestival, Glastonbury, Larmer Tree and many more, as the bands growing reputation spread. This culminated in near disaster when the single Medium Wave almost blew their cult credentials by entering the fringes of the UK Download Chart. Fortunately it was a near miss and the band remain a bona fide underground act to this day... The Voodoo Trombone Quartet will release their second album early in 2008.